Joy Comes Down to Choice

by Sis. Kim McDougal

“Always be full of joy in the Lord. I say it again—rejoice!”
Philippians 4:4 (NLT)

When I think back to that day in my closet praying to God to help me overcome depression, I’m reminded of how far I’ve come since then. I don’t battle depression anymore daily as I once did. But the cure wasn’t anti-depressants or attend a group therapy session. One word did the trick: choice. God told me that I could choose to be depressed or choose to be happy and joyful. At the time, I thought that to be the hardest thing to do. But you know what He said? He told me to just choose.

And a light bulb moment came to me that instant! I realized it was within my own will to choose to believe God’s word when He said the joy of the Lord is my strength. So I can choose to be joyful no matter what is going on around me. And today, might you realize the power of choice. It’s not just a choice of whether you’ll eat a ham sandwich over a turkey sandwich but it is just that simple to do when you realize you don’t have to be governed by the sins of our flesh.

You can choose to forgive, overcome, courage, strength, love over hate, freedom or slavery to your situation, God made us with the will to choose because He would not have wanted robots for followers. Choose today your freedom in God, it’s yours if you really want it.

We love to read your comments! God bless you!

