What Are You Expecting?

by Sis. Kim McDougal

“But when you ask him, be sure that your faith is in God alone. Do not waver, for a person with divided loyalty is as unsettled as a wave of the sea that is blown and tossed by the wind. Such people should not expect to receive anything from the Lord.” – James 1:6-7 (NLT)

Expectations have a lot to do with outcomes. What is faith if it is not an expectation that God is going to do what He said He would do and what is hope if it is not an expectation of good things to come? At one time in my Christian walk, I would pray about something but then about 30 minutes later, I would pray about the same thing again. I know now that I didn’t really believe that God would answer my petition. I wasn’t expecting that He would help me. I thought, “maybe I should just ask again.” As I studied the scriptures more over the years, I learned that God makes promises to us and that He himself wants us to expect that when we pray that He will answer according to His will. And, we can expect that as we live for Him each day, He will:

  1. Never leave us, never forget about us.
  2. Provide our every need.
  3. Keep every promise He has made to us.
  4. Give us the plans that are the best for us.

We have to be steady in our belief and faith in Him and not waver the way the wind blows. If we go back and forth like that, how can we expect anything from God? We should expect His favor on our lives, we should expect Him to answer our prayers, we should expect Him to demonstrate His power, might, and ability to carry us through our trials and tribulations, we should expect that He will give us beauty for ashes and the list goes on. The fact is that God so loves you and I. He wants to bless us. What we have to do is believe in His love for us. If we can get our arms around that fact, then we can come to His throne expecting the very best for our lives.

We love to read your comments! God bless you!

