A Heart to Serve

by Georgia Kent

“Then they can urge the younger women to love their husbands and children, to be self controlled and pure. To be busy at home. To be kind and to be subject to their husbands so that love will malign the word of God’. -Titus 2:4-5

My deepest desire is for the world to see Jesus through me. If people are going to see Jesus through me then I must learn to have a ‘servants heart’ to serve others. My Husband, my children, my family, my church, my community, and anyone who God puts into my path.

This may be as simple as sharing a smile, or a ride to church, or a meal when someone we know is sick or had surgery, or a death in the family and are in need of our help. Sometimes these needs come at difficult times and we have to reach outside of our comfort zones. I have learned that when God asks these things of me and I Truly have to stretch to make it happen that He blesses me beyond measure.

“Love and kindness are never wasted. They always make a difference. They bless the one who receives them, and they bless you, the giver”. In order to serve others, we must be anchored in Christ. I challenge myself to meditate on the words of Titus 2:4-5 and to find ways to make them come to life in me. I pray that I will always be found willing and able to serve in any situation that God calls me into.

 “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility, value others, not looking to your own interests, but each of you. To the interests of others”. Philippians 2:3-4

We love to read your comments! God bless you!

