He is My Comforter

by Kim McDougal

“All praise to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. God is our merciful Father and the source of all comfort. He comforts us in all our troubles.” – II Corinthians 1:3-4 (NLT)

When we’re down or in difficult circumstances, we need comfort. But it’s important to know we don’t just need any kind of comfort. It’s so much easier to receive comfort from someone who has the power or authority to bring that comfort. For example, the doctor that says your test results are negative, the firemen that put out the fire without it doing real damage to your house.

God is our Great Comforter and He knows just what to do and say to us at the right time when we need encouragement. When I think back over my life, it was those lowest times when I thought I had nothing to live for where God truly would do something to help me hang on. It could be that I received a card in the mail from a friend to tell me they were thinking of me. Perhaps, someone was led to call me to just pray for me over the phone. Maybe, I went to the grocery store and the cashier gave me the biggest smile that delighted my heart. Believe me, these are NOT coincidences. God uses people to lift up our souls when we need it.

Today, if you’re feeling blue, just ask the Great Comforter to uplift you and then begin to look around. You will see His hand moving to help you and carry you onward.

We love to read your comments! God bless you!

