Keep it Simple Silly

by Kim McDougal

“These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.” – Matthew 6:32-33 NLT

Us humans make things more complicated than they ought to be. For example, I remember one day as I was working on my computer, all of a sudden, “POOF!”, the screen went black, the computer’s off and my first thought was, “My hard drive has crashed!” I began to go into a tailspin, I panicked and began looking through my file cabinets for the original CDs that came with my laptop. I thought I was going to have to reformat my hard drive and re-install the operating system and all my programs again. All the while, I’m screaming, “I have to wipe the hard drive and start over!!” Then, at that moment, I have a light switch moment…”I’ll pray!” Imagine that? Why didn’t I pray first? The Lord immediately spoke to my heart and said, “check the power cord.” I thought, “hmmm…ok”. Sure enough, the cord had come loose. I put it back in the socket and TADA!!!!!, the computer comes back on! Now I have to clean up my office cause I had CDs everywhere! How difficult I made that situation?!

God is so wonderful to us, I imagine He was probably in Heaven watching me freak out and just grinning at me…He knew I would eventually remember to pray, yet He didn’t convict me that I didn’t ask His help first. I knew better after this life’s lesson. And you can know that whatever needs you have whether physical (in my case I needed my computer to work), or emotional or spiritual, God has promised to meet every one of your needs. What He wants us to do is seek Him first and not to worry about the things in this life. When Jesus died for us on the cross, He put an end to worrying about what we would need. We just have to apply that power into our lives. He’s given that to us, today seek God first in all you do and say. Let Him take care of your family, financial, physical, emotional, and spiritual needs.

2 thoughts on “Keep it Simple Silly

We love to read your comments! God bless you!

