Loving Who You Are…

By Georgia (Jo) Kent

 

‘Mirror, Mirror On The Wall’ Have you ever looked in a mirror and felt like you were ugly? I think, as women we tend to be very critical of ourselves. Why then is it so easy to look at other women and see the beauty in them? Maybe that can be explained because we don’t love ourselves. So many of us have had a terrible childhood and grew up feeling unworthy of loving anyone, including ourselves… This is a lie of Satan! 
 
If a child grows up in an environment of criticism, the child will learn to be critical. We can’t love others if we disrespect ourselves. What does God teach us about loving ourselves and others? “For no man ever hated his own flesh, but nourishes and carefully protects and cherishes it.” Ephesians 5:29
 
In order to love those around us, we must first learn how to love ourselves. Satan wants us to dislike ourselves so we wont be able to love others. We have to learn how to create feelings of self worth, approval, acceptance and trust. Then we will be able to love who we are and love other people that surrounds us. The whole law can be summed up in this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself”. Galatians 5:14
 
I suggest that we practice looking into our mirrors everyday and saying this prayer… ‘Lord Jesus, give me an overwhelming love and acceptance for myself. Help me to see the beauty in me that you see. Please help me to love myself so that I may show your love to others.Thank you for creating me so perfect in your image.’
 
For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am wonderfully made.” Psalms 139:13
 
                                                                Sweet Blessings
We love to read your comments! God bless you!

