Search and Change My Heart, O God

by Kim McDougal

“Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along the path of everlasting life.” – Psalms 139:23-24 (NLT)

If there was anyone in the Bible that wasn’t perfect, it would be David. But there is just something about him that I absolutely love. No matter how far away he got from the Lord, he had a tender heart. Some people couldn’t or wouldn’t have corrected their behavior and sought God after being rebuked of murder and adultery. But David did. I wonder if all those months and years of being in the field with his sheep alone brought him to a closer place with God that he never forgot when he became King. And it was this prayer he prayed that I believe really touched the Lord. For the Lord searches our hearts. He knows our motives, He knows our thoughts. David didn’t want to offend God in his heart and thoughts. We shouldn’t either. And yet, one of the hardest things for us Christians to do is to look into our own heart. We don’t want to see anything bad in there. However, if we don’t examine ourselves we can stray off into many directions and easily fall away from God.

It’s important that our heart be right before God on a daily basis. Think about it…every day you and I have to make decisions, we don’t know what the day will bring. We don’t know what we might have to face. We can have our whole day planned out and one thing interrupts it and changes everything.

It doesn’t have to take a mature person to search their heart and own up to their frailties, it just takes a willing heart. A willing heart that prays, “Father God, search me, know my heart, test me and point out anything that offends you and help me and lead me down the righteous path, in Jesus name, Amen.”

I just love this song, “Change My Heart O God.” May it be our daily prayer.

“Change my heart oh God,
Make it ever true.
Change my heart oh God,
May I be like You.

You are the potter,
I am the clay,
Mold me and make me,
This is what I pray.”

We love to read your comments! God bless you!

