Finding Contentment

By Georgia (Jo) Kent

“Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatever state I am in to be content. I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: everywhere and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:11-13

I have always thought that monetary things would give me Contentment. I grew up believing that to ‘have it all’ meant owning a nice home, having a perfect family, beautiful cloths, lots of friends and many possessions. I would always get so excited about ‘newness’ anything that I bought or accomplishments in my life. The only problem was that exciting feeling only lasted a few days and then the need to experience it would creep back in. Eventually, I would be searching for something new to replace that lost euphoric feeling.

“And he said unto them, Take heed, and keep yourselves from all covetousness: for a man’s life consisteth not in the abundance of the things which he possesseth.” Luke 12:15

I began to realize that we will never be fulfilled through having monetary things like homes, cars, cloths, or vacations. Nor will we ever be content through life changing events. If we try to find meaning in our accomplishments rather than God, we will never be satisfied, and everything we pursue will disappoint us.

“But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain that we can carry nothing out” 1Timothy 6:6-7

Lets not let our longings spoil our living. Earthly ‘stuff’ will never give us contentment. Not even our family, who we love more then life itself. I wasted so many years of my life chasing peace, harmony and contentment, looking in all the wrong directions. I finally realized that the only way to attain that feeling of ‘perfect contentment’ was by making God the center of my life. God wants us to have all the desires of our heart, and that requires putting him first in our lives and trusting that he will supply all our needs according to his grace. It is only by living a Christ centered life that we find perfect contentment.

“Godliness with contentment is great gain.” 1Timothy 6:6

Sweet Blessings

We love to read your comments! God bless you!

