Do I Trust God?

by Kim McDougal

“All you who fear the Lord, trust the Lord! He is your helper and your shield.” -Psalms 115:11 (NLT)

Have you been so sick that you had to depend on someone to take care of you completely?, I mean even so much as going to the bathroom? I’ve been there. It’s hard when that happens especially if you’re like me, fiercely independent. But through that situation, I believe the Lord was teaching me how to completely depend on Him. Later on, I would lose my job, my financial security blanket, and go into my own business. I was single at the time and had no idea what I was getting into. I had depleted my severance pay and now I was totally dependent on God to bring in my income. I didn’t have the security of a paycheck every 15th and last day of the month. God taught me during those early years how to depend on Him, not in myself, for my livelihood.

Sometimes, we can be too independent or afraid to completely live on faith. It can seem scary because we can’t see the future. However, our God can. And He urges us to trust Him with all our cares, concerns, and life. He’s made many promises to us, like He’ll never leave us nor forsake us, that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them that are called according to His purpose. We really can let go and let God in every corner of our world. There’s a freedom that comes with surrendering our live completely and solely over to Him. During the course of self-employment, I’ve seen God work miracles to ensure our bills got paid. Yes, there were struggles along the way, but God never let us down. Even when He told us to leave Florida and move to Oregon, He provided everything we needed for the trip and everything we’ve needed since we’ve been here. What a God we serve!

Today, whatever your life is like, trust God for it. Trust Him to do what’s right for you. Trust Him for the answers you seek even if you don’t agree with how God works. Oftentimes, we don’t understand, but God doesn’t asks us to understand, He simply asks us to TRUST Him.

We love to read your comments! God bless you!

