The Power Of A Mother’s Prayer

By Georgia (Jo) Kent

‘God could not be everywhere, so he created mothers.’ Jewish Proverb

One of the reasons God created mothers was to gives us an earthly example of His heavenly love for us. Each stage of motherhood reveals an aspect of His love.

Record my misery; list my tears on your scroll; are they not in your record?”Psalms 56:8

As with so many children of my generation (post war) I was an unwanted and neglected child. I had a very lonely childhood. I always knew that when I grew up that I would have my own children to fill all the empty holes in my heart. I never wavered from that dream. During my journey to adulthood I was lucky enough to be adopted and blessed enough to find Jesus as my Savior. While that sustained me, it never quite filled all the places in my heart that had never felt loved and…I prayed!

“Lo, children are a heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward.” Psalms 127:3

Becoming a mother was one of those precise moments in life that left me permanently altered. I have loved every moment of my motherhood journey. My heart fell in love with my babies long before they were in our arms! I thanked God and …I prayed!

I watched my children grow from babies, to teens, to adults, and then get married. Each step in the process filled heart to overflowing and taught me more about my own ability to function as a parent. I saw all their hurts, frustrations and pains, and listened to all their complaints, fears, and rejections. And…I prayed!

And, now it’s time for grandmother-hood. I have been a proud grandmother for many years now. I delight in watching my children parent. Through all the years, 4 children, 2 step children, 6 spouses, 14 grand children and 2 great grandchildren that all love the Lord. I can honestly say…my heart is full of love, peace and joy. And…I Pray!

“Children are a gift from the Lord; they are a reward from him.” Psalm 127:3

If I were to list the many titles of a Mother it would be endless. Love your mother, cherish her and honor her…She deserves it! Remember always, your body is sacred ground. Your roots are strong. Never forget the gardeners who came before you, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, all tilled your soil with the compost of their lives. And now, you hold the seeds. Plant them deeply in the furrow of this land. What comes to you as a flower, in your final years will return as shade. And…Always Pray!

“They will be called oaks of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, to display his glory.” Isaiah 61:3

A blessed and gracious Mother’s Day to all Mothers….

We love to read your comments! God bless you!

