Do I Really Want to Do a “Do-Over”?

by Kim McDougal

“Just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glorious power of the Father, now we also may live new lives.” -Romans 6:4 (NLT)

You’ve probably been asked this question at one time, “If you had to do over again with the knowledge you have now, what would you go back and change?” If you ask me this question, my answer is, “NOTHING“. Why? Well think about it for a minute…why would I go back and change the decisions in my past when it is my present and future that I need to be focused on and concerned about? What’s past is past. Sure, we all have moments in our life that we’d like to change. But the important thing to remember here is when we repent of our bad decisions and place these sins under God’s feet, it stays there for Him. He no longer brings these things up again and He doesn’t hold anything against us.

In my opinion, when you hold onto this idea of wanting a Do-Over, we’re in essence saying, “God, I don’t believe that I’m really forgiven.” It grieves the heart of God and I think it actually makes Him angry for us to live in the past when He did so much on that cross for us to have a new life.

Our scripture today says it all. Because our Savior Christ rose from the dead, now we may live a new life. To me, this is the ultimate Do-Over, I get to Do-Over everything from my past by making better decisions NOW with Christ. I get to talk to Him everyday and ask His will to be done in my life TODAY. What I do today goes into the future. It’s like my past never existed! That’s the best remedy to wanting to change a past mistake. Walk with God each day, listen to His voice, follow His lead. Let Him have full reign over your life. He wants to give you and me a brand new life with abundance. But we tie His hands when we won’t leave the past buried. And He won’t override yours and my will. He’ll simply wait until you and I are tired of living in the past and decide to do it differently.

A Do-Over from the past? NOT ME. I’m Living in the Present creating a New Future with Jesus Christ. Will you join me?

We love to read your comments! God bless you!

