Choosing My Inheritance

By Georgia (Jo) Kent

“In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.” John 14:2

One morning as I was reading my bible study, I read these words in Samuel; “Has not the Lord anointed you ruler over his inheritance” But instead of “He” I saw the word as “Me” I thought just how gracious God is that he has given me the power to control my own inheritance in Heaven. If someone told you that you could have anything that you wanted in this life, all the wealth, homes, vacations, cars and toys, and all you had to do was except Christ as your personal Savior, be a good person with a pure heart, help others and, be kind, wouldn’t you think that you must have just won the lottery? There’s just one problem… All these riches end with our death. Only Heaven is for eternity.

“No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love him.” 1Corinthians 2:9

Think about this…Heaven is a place of matchless beauty and blessings. Our Father has prepared mansions for us and there filled with great treasure for us? John described Heaven as an entire city of transparent gold with walls made of precious jewels with twelve gates made of single pearls. The streets are made out of pure gold. There will be neither tears nor the sound of crying. The leaves of the tree of life will guarantee our health. It will be place of fellowship and a place of joy. We will stand with angels, walk with friends, sit down in the company of Abraham, Isaiah and David and talk with Paul and Adam. The whole city is lighted by the glory of God. There will be no power shortages, for God is all powerful, no bumping into things in the dark; no sleepless nights. Nor will there be bills, hospitals, bank accounts. In fact, In Heaven we will have no complaints, no lying, no hate, no fear and no crime.

“Look, I am Coming Soon, bringing my reward with me to repay all people according to their deeds.” Revelation 22:12

There aren’t any riches on this earth to compare to the riches waiting for us in Heaven. God gives everyone of us the ability to control our own inheritance. By receiving Christ as our Savior we inherit eternal life. If we believe, we are a citizen of Heaven. We are to let Christ reign in our lives now, but our full spiritual inheritance includes being with Christ and reigning with Him throughout eternity.

Jesus said, “He that heareth my word, and believeth on him that sent me, hath everlasting life, and shall not come into condemnation; but is passed from death unto life” John 5:24

Sweet Blessings

We love to read your comments! God bless you!

