Is Your Faith Bigger Then Your Fear

By Georgia (Jo) Kent

“And all the things you ask in prayer, having faith, you will receive.” Matthew 21:22

Have you ever been paralyzed by fear and had no hope except to depend on your faith in God? When I was a little girl I had a paralyzing fear of the dark. In my innocent youth, I had no way of knowing that through Jesus, I held the power to overcome my fears. I know now that we have many choices in this life, one is whether we will choose to live by faith or live in fear. Faith and fear are complete opposites. They cannot reign in the same heart. While fear cowers, faith stands. While fear frets, faith prays. While fear looks within, faith looks to Jesus. While fear despairs, faith hopes.

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” 2 Timothy 1:7

Fear is a negative faith and it is based on doubting that God is still in control of things. Negative faith suggests that our situation has gotten too big for even God to Control. The positive road is ‘faith’ and the negative road is ‘fear’. The problem is that we can’t be on two roads at the same time. God does not want us to be shackled by the chains of fear. He wants us to live in the powerful freedom of faith.

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10

To have the strength to counter fear, you have to be filled up on the truth, God’s written word promises us, for every fear there is a biblical promise that counters that lie. Write down every fear that you hold in your heart and find the biblical answer to that fear, claim these promises daily. You will begin to grow in faith Instead of being driven by worry and fear. Walking in faith pleases God and gets results. You will begin to experience peace, joy and spiritual victory. Soon your faith will be bigger then your fear.

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” – John 14:27

Father, I ask that you give us all the power to have faith to over come our fears. That we may take comfort in knowing that you are only a whisper away. We thank you for never leaving us or forsaking us when we need you the most. Amen

Sweet Blessings

We love to read your comments! God bless you!

