Did I Just Say That?

‘DEAR LORD, PLEASE KEEP YOUR ARM AROUND MY SHOULDER AND YOUR HAND OVER MY MOUTH!’ AMEN

By Georgia (Jo) Kent

“Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.” Ephesians 4:29

I can think of so many times when I should have kept silent, but I just had to speak. On more than one occasion I have said something, and the moment it left my lips, I thought, “Why did I just say that?” And I have found myself instantly wishing I could have those words back. Learning how to be a good steward of our words is a tall order for many of us. Especially, if we tend to speak first and then to think. By the time we are adults we’ve already created habits of speech but it’s never too late to check ourselves on what and how we choose our words that we so freely share with others.

Whoever keeps his mouth and his tongue keeps himself out of trouble.” Proverbs 21:23

While the tongue may be one of the smallest parts of the human anatomy, It can be very dangerous. Words matter. Words have power. They can build up or tear down. They can encourage or discourage. They can pour forth love or spew forth hate. God calls us to cultivate a habit of speaking life-giving words. Sometimes we need to apply filter to our conversations. We need to ask ourselves…Will these words build this person up or tear them them down?” What a difference there would be in the content of our words if we can learn to give thought to what we are about to say.

“Set a guard, O Lord, over my mouth; keep watch over the door of my lips!” psalms 141:3

I’ve come to the conclusion that speaking with grace and kindness is not just a matter of learning to say the right words; it’s an attitude of the heart and mind. The Bible tells us that “what comes out of our mouth only reflects what’s going on inside our heart.” We can all say we have been guilty of letting a comment slip here and there, and then regretting it later. Chances are you will never know that something you said hurt someone deeply. But God knows and He will hold us accountable when we stand before Him in Heaven. I encourage you to be thoughtful with your words. That way you will never have to readdress them when they come back to you. If you feel checked in your spirit about something you are about to say…Maybe you should not say it! Challenge yourself to think before you speak and you will be gifted with a lifetime of peace in your soul.

“Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.” Psalms 19:14

Lord, my heart echoes the words of David when he said, “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Thy sight…” I pray that we will always be good stewards of our words and that we may glorify you in everything we say. Give us the grace to never knowingly hurt someone with the words that we speak. In your precious name. Amen

Sweet Blessings

One thought on “Did I Just Say That?

We love to read your comments! God bless you!

