Serve The Lord With Gladness

By Georgia (Jo) Kent

“Clap your hands, all peoples! Shout to God with loud songs of joy. Psalms 47:1

Have you ever wondered why the birds sing so joyfully in the morning? How they flit and flutter from tree to tree, landing just long enough to release their sweet melodies calling their mates or reassuring their little ones. These beautiful melodic sounds greet my ears and settle down deep in my heart, simple, yet comforting. It’s at times like these that I am reminded of how precious my Fathers love for me is and how his presence fills my soul with such joy and gladness. And my heart is filled with a deep abiding love and gratitude.

“Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing.” Psalm 100:2

Don’t you just enjoy being with happy people? People that always smile and greet you with a kind word? Someone who speaks positive words that lift you up and makes you feel like you can make it through another day, no matter what challenges that comes your way. As apposed to someone who has a permanent frown that constantly complains and never has anything positive to say. They talk about themselves [or others] and how difficult their life is or how someone else did something that offended them. How do others see you? Do you present yourself as a happy child of God? Do you always greet others with a smile and kind word? Or do others seem to shy away from you?

“For thou, LORD, hast made me glad through thy work: I will triumph in the works of thy hands.” Psalm 92:4

True joy is that overwhelming sense of comfort and contentment that floods one’s soul. It comes with dwelling in the presence of the Heavenly Father. Learn to serve the Lord with gladness, not with a frown, not out of habit, not even out of the feeling of duty, but serve Him with a joyous heart. To serve Him is a privilege; one that we should never take lightly for it is only by His mercy and grace that we even have the opportunity to serve such a Holy, Mighty, Awesome God!

Father, I love you and desire to serve You with gladness and a song in my heart all day long. Please remind me when I am overwhelmed by life’s situations that You are ever present to fill my heart with joy. Help me to always share your love with others. In you precious name, Amen!

Sweet Blessings

We love to read your comments! God bless you!

